Year Vol. 01 - A Selection From 2020

This compilation from Icy Cold Records, a French independent label focused on Post Punk, Coldwave & Goth Rock, is featuring a selection of 25 tracks from 2020.

Digital Album [free download]

Posted on January 13th, 2021 under Releases,

Parking Dance - Can't Explain

After last year bursting debut album “What More?”, the Toulouse-based of diverse talents has kept on delving into the boundaries of his distinctive ‘spiral’ hypnotic post-punk sound rich in passion and intensity with a gripping combination of piercing reverb-strewn atmospheric shoegaze distortion and a hectic grip of rhythmic post-punk edge, weaving dilated enveloping layers with abrasive resounding strains, marked by deep convulsive pulsations into a thick tapestry of existential despair, anxiety, and anger in an intense, emotionally striking rollercoaster ride of ecstasy and pain, introspection and aggression, that will lure you far into a tumultuous trance of hypnotic rapture. [Whitelight//Whiteheat]

CD / Digital Album

Posted on October 3rd, 2020 under Releases, ,

Tisiphone – Koma Forte

Four years after the release of the debut album, the French Tisiphone are back, this time, for an absolutely changeable adrenaline injection that will follow the short-duration format. The new EP, entitled KOMA FORTE, hits the shelves and consists of a total of six themes in an approximate duration of half an hour. From the new EP – which received additional details this week – the track “Atomic Tissue” had previously been released, which can be heard below with audiovisual work.

KOMA FORTE follows the trio’s first career LP, TISIPHONE and presents a very eclectic sound without being attached to a single conception. From entertainment theater to widely sentimental sounds, the new EP by Tisiphone promises to make a stir in 2020. In addition to “Atomic Tissue”, the French have presented in live performances the theme “Heureux Je Suis” which will also integrate the alignment of the new work.

LP / Digital Album

Posted on April 4th, 2020 under Releases, ,

Double Echo – Burning In Blue

The fourth album from Liverpool’s Double Echo, adding elements of dream-pop, giallo and electronic experimentation to their established mix of post-punk and darkwave.

CD / Digital Album

Posted on March 30th, 2020 under Releases, ,

Walk Onto Sun – Self-titled

Walk Onto Sun is the solo vessel of Los Angeles, CA musician Ben Engebretson. The project began in 2016 with In the Inside EP, a recording of songs that webzine I Die: You Die described as, “fractured minimal wave, bleary post-punk, with a restless and claustrophobic mood.” After some local live performances, Ben continued to evolve and experiment with Grow Static, released on cassette by Minnesota experimental label Phage Tapes. Not tightly fitting into any one genre, these songs showcased a diverse palette of surrealistic compositions with political themes of alienation, degradation of facts, and the demise of the middle class. CVLT Nation described the EP as, “one of the most exciting darkwave/industrial releases this year,” and, “a fantastic EP highly recommended for anyone into darkwave, industrial, trip-hop, or even ambient/experimental noise.”

In 2019, Walk Onto Sun’s first LP, released on French label Icy Cold Records in cooperation with Manic Depression Records (Digital, CD), and Phage Tapes (cassette), comes in full post-punk force with a dark dream like washing over the pulsing percussion. These hypnotic sounds find inspiration from older acts like Suicide and Public Image Ltd, and newer acts like The Soft Moon and Liars. Lyrical themes include a fluctuation between despair and hope living in current day America, navigating alienation, and taking on the autocratic tendencies of lies and disinformation. This LP features two brilliantly crafted atmospheric and EBM remixes of ‘Medicate’ by Spheric. Now a duo live, look out for live performances in the coming year and into 2020.

CD / Digital Album

Posted on January 12th, 2020 under Releases, ,