Låska - Strangers

DKA is proud to add Låska to their ever-growing roster. Låska are Oksana and Dima Ivashinin, a pair of Russian musicians who recently relocated to Berlin. Låska (in Russian translation “Ласка” stands for ”caress”, meanwhile in Swedish, where the word originated this word means a ”black ink stain”).

Strangers is the second release from Låska following a ST cassette on French label Distag. Låska is inspired by the synth-pop and cold-wave scenes of the 80’s, citing bands like Imperia, Beta Evers, Depeche Mode, Cabaret Voltaire, Linear Movement, and Grauzone as primary influences. Oksana and Dima found their move to Berlin to have a huge impact on the themes on Strangers. Essentially an album exploring loneliness in a new scene, these songs echo the sentiments of the classic David Bowie instrumental “A New Career in a New Town” about his adventures in Berlin. Låska’s songs induce feelings as disparate as being lost in a vast industrial landscape and then at night being just another body on the dance floor of a Berlin klubnacht.

This is the soundtrack to finding yourself as you vainly seek a human connection amongst the hedonistic backdrop of the crowded dance floor. Inspired by Berlin’s current and past music scenes and the chilly mood induced by its landscape of brutalist architecture, the music is cold and minimal but full of beauty. Oksana and Dima sing lyrics in multiple languages, exploring self-delusion, an uncertain future, a desire for understanding, and the need for love. Like Yaz or Deux the music has strong pop elements and could have sound-tracked the discotheques of Europe in the 80s.

Highly recommended music for welcoming in the dusk, you need to add Låska’s Strangers to your collection.

Cassette / Digital Album

Posted on August 28th, 2020 under Releases, ,

Karger Traum - III

Karger Traum proves with their third release that they are more than just an EBM group. The German-language duo based out of Oklahoma City brings their varying dance music tastes to the table with their first full-length LP release, with influences ranging from techno to electro to new wave, while further refining their characteristic mix of Einstürzende Neubauten that’s more grounded in electro-acoustic body music.

But this record isn’t just total industrial darkness. It has moments of sassy, cheeky playfulness. It is an adventure from start-to-finish with tracks set to propel the dance floor into utterly trippy territory, while seamlessly flowing as a cohesive album across multiple sonic realms.

LP / Digital Album

Posted on August 25th, 2020 under Releases, ,

CRT – State X-Ray

Atlanta underground producer MPKJR’s CRT, CopyrightRegisteredTrademark, returns to DKA with 6 new tracks of torn speaker, 88’ Accord tape deck, body jack 2 step, metallic dance smash funk in the form of State X-ray. Dead pan hooks peek through the blown-out bass as haunted leads melt their way through the rhythms pressing for a surrender to form.

The record vibes like the kids from the “Over the Shoulder” (Ministry) video growing up together and starting a band. The angular tones of the tracks drawing from nostalgic projects like Nervous Gender, Factrix and Severed Heads to the more recent sounds of Boris Barksdale, Volition Immanent and Maenad Veyl. Various field recordings, VHS compressed audio, modular synths and hardware sequencers create this release’s palette. Embrace the new dance sound from the sweat soaked floors of Atlanta. Feel the smash and lose yourself in the fog while CRT guides you on a tour of Atlanta’s underground past and present.

Construction through accident. Heat by motion. Awareness through empathy. Life by wire.

12″ / Digital Album

Posted on May 21st, 2020 under Releases, ,

DKA Tape Programme Vol. III

DKA is proud to release the third compilation in the DKA Tape Programme series. DKA gathered twenty three artists on the cutting edge of the electronic music scene. You can feel the pulse of fog filled clubs around the world in these twenty three tracks. DKA Tape Programme Vol. III is a deep dive into EBM, Industrial, Noise, Minimal Synth, Acid, and Post-punk. A diverse collection of tracks from wonderful musicians that deserve to be showcased.

Cassette / Digital Album

Posted on April 22nd, 2020 under Releases,

Autumns – Foyle Living

Autumns returns to DKA with a second cassette called “Foyle Living”. Hot on the heels of the full length “Shortly after Nothing” released on Death and Leisure. This tape showcases the more experimental side of Autumns. Eight songs culled from recording and practice sessions that combine the aesthetics of early Cabaret Voltaire and Throbbing Gristle pulse with a dissonant energy.

Autumns draws from a negative almost nihilistic approach to music. The hard EBM and Techno he produces pummels the audience while filling the dance floor. Over the punchy kick drums and minimal basslines, Christian’s voice flows through distortion and echo without restraint. To see Autumns, live is akin to witnessing an electronic equivalent to a Birthday Party show in the 80s. Like a young Nick Cave, Autumns end goal is a state in which the artist and audience gives into animal abandon.

Cassette / Digital Album

Posted on February 25th, 2020 under Releases, ,