Sorry, Heels - She

Sorry, Heels were born in Frosinone (Italy) in 2010. After two self-produced EPs, “Wasted” (2013) and “Distances” (2014), their first album, “The Accuracy of Silence”, was released on the Finnish label Gothic Music Records in 2015. “She” (Shades of Sound Records/Wave Records) is their new album due out in 2021.

Various line-up changes mark a radical change in Sorry, Heels’ sound, abandoning rock standards and diverting their compositions towards electronic music, while maintaining references and sounds linked to new wave and early post-punk. “She” is imbued with dream and synth pop influences with ethereal and suffused atmospheres, it’s relaxed and sensual.

Sorry, Heels’ new album “She” is a work entirely dedicated to the love journey of a woman who faces infatuation, falling in love, disappointment and frustration. Both the lyrics and the sounds were written in an attempt to evoke all the various stages she has gone through.

Starting from infatuation (“Through the End”) through passion (“She Burns”, first single), rejection (“Something Real”), obsession (“Follow Signs” and “The Spell’s Ballad”), the loneliness of broken dreams (“My Doll’s House” and “Another Lapse”), repentance (“The Void”). And then it inexorably arrives at the acceptance that nothing will change: “The End of Desires”.

CD / Digital Album

Posted on June 26th, 2021 under Releases, , ,

Mirror Of Haze - The End Is the Beginning

Behind shuttered windows and closed doors, our distant memories are slowly drifting into the void of reality. Thrown upside down in the air, we are floating between rational thinking and chaos. There is no present, past, or future, just this elusive feeling of eternal loneliness. The flowers bloom and fade away an infinite number of times, across infinite time and space. The end is the beginning and the beginning is the end. Our attempts to break the circle bring us to the place where it all started. Forever lost in the maze of life, unseen and unknown, this very moment is already forgotten.

“The End Is the Beginning” is the debut album of post-punk/gothic rock project Mirror of Haze from Oslo, Norway. Recorded in isolation during the pandemic months of 2020, it captures the mood of this strange and unprecedented time of modern history. From the first song Mirror of Haze sets up both anxious and ethereal atmosphere, filled with reverb-drenched dreamy guitars, driving bass lines, rhythmic drum machine beats, and commanding vocals. In the guitar driven sound of the record you can hear musical textures reminiscent of acts from previous decades such as The Chameleons and The Fields Of The Nephilim, and modern artists like Drab Majesty and Then Comes Silence.

Lyrically, the album builds on eternal philosophical questions of life and death in the dystopian post apocalyptic setting, taking inspiration from the striking imagery of “The Waste Land” by T.S. Eliot.

CD / Digital Album

Posted on February 18th, 2021 under Releases, ,

Transmission - Cosmos

Transmission is Sandrine Deville solo synthwave/dark-wave project, from Biarritz, France.

CD / Digital Album

Posted on September 24th, 2020 under Releases, ,

El Ojo Y La Navaja - Esquizia

El Ojo y la Navaja is a minimal electronics project formed by the musician Erick Arévalo at the beginning of the year 2017 in the State of Mexico.

The project is mainly influenced by the minimal synth and post punk scene of the 80s since that the sound essence of the Project is inspired by the cold and mechanical rhythms made from synthesizers and old and modern rhythm boxes.

The aesthetic of El Ojo y la Navaja is nourished by other artistic manifestations such as cinema and literature since the name of the project is taken from a scene from the classic short film “Un Chien Andaluz” directed by Luis Buñuel and Salvador Dalí.

CD / Digital Album

Posted on September 23rd, 2020 under Releases, ,

Instant Lake ‎– Dystodream

After the first studio work, Refractory, Instant Lake returns with a brand new album, Dystodream, which will be released in triple version, Vinyl-Cd-Digital, once again by the Brazilian label Wave-Records. It is the second album for the quartet of southern Italy with the new formation: Gennaro De Lena (vocals and lyrics) Pierluigi Grauso (guitar and theremin), Carlo Landolfi (bass) and Dario Amoroso (synth and programming).

Dystodream is only partially in Instant Lake’s synth-wave/post-punk sound tradition, in songs such as “Ludopatia” and “White Noise”, it also marks the transition to more synthetic and martial sounds, in which the pressing and powerful electronic rhythm of songs like “Black Flag”, “Death to Slavery” and “Trauma” wink at the industrial sound of the origins. Halfway, in a sort of ideal stylistic bridge, there is “Delicate Obscenity”, while in the evocative power of “Tirsch” there are clearly perceptible elements of folk origin. All the musical contaminations of the album Dystodream are a direct artistic expression of the versatility of musical influences and culture of the band as a whole. They wanted to create a final product representing them collectively, merging individual sensitivities. A varied and multifaceted approach to the creative process is also found in the lyrics that investigate a wide range of single and collective emotions. Moreover, some literary references can be clearly recognized.

Dystodream therefore sets itself as a new beginning for the Italian band, but at the same time represents the ideal second stage of a musical way which began with Refractory in the 2017, completing the journey which started with the first two singles + videos: Caustero (2016) and Sit Back (2017). In between the two albums the single + video Death to Slavery was released in February 2019.

CD / Digital Album

Posted on June 30th, 2020 under Releases, ,