Staatseinde - De Nieuwe Golf

The interstellar cosmonauts of Staatseinde create a theatrical mix of pulsing electro with nostalgic hopeful synthlines, all performed live with synthesizers, a sequencer and tantalizing vocals. From Wave to EBM, from NDW to Punk and everything else in and out of the box. It is like walking into a club meeting Kraftwerk on speed and The Sex Pistols on acid.

Their new release “De Nieuwe Golf” is characterized by dystopian prospects and hopeful sounds, confirming Staatseinde’s name as the founder of the “Neue Niederländische Welle”, in other words the New Dutch Wave.

The uplifting italo rifs in opening track “Grauw” take you on a journey through a gray world in which color cannot be taken for granted. Minimal wave track “Einzelganger” makes you feel like an outsider who can’t keep up with society. “Geef Me De Tijd” sounds like a schizophrenic dreamer swinging casually, but ending as a hard hitting track. Dystopian doom and pessimism is captured in EBM/techno floor filler “Doembeelden”. The raw West Coast Sound of Holland infused “La Haya” is a tribute to the city of The Hague which calls out on everybody to get wasted. The epic ode to space travel “Ruimtevaart Vooruit (2022 Refix)” is back in a rendition inspired by Rude66’s 2010 remix version. “Isla Inutile” is a dark and tropical delirium. In the hopeful “Alles is Weg”, Staatseinde takes you from the downfall on the way to…?

Staatseinde’s “De Nieuwe Golf” holds up a mirror to humanity…progress has not helped us any further. There is hope…but will this new wave be on time? Or is it already too late?

LP / Digital Album

Posted on November 13th, 2023 under Releases, ,

Staatseinde - Fehlerlinie

Medical Records is honored to release the first full LP by Dutch cosmic explorers Staatseinde. Formed in 2006, Staatseinde have released a multitude of cassettes, singles as well as a CDR album in 2012. “Fehlerlinie” represents the culmination of a very productive couple of years including stellar performances at the streaming IFM Fest, the release of compelling collaboration tapes and other releases. Though impossible to confine to a single genre or style, their music can be described as a captivating fusion of electro-pop, electro-clash and robotic punk/wave. Each and every track carefully chosen for this LP is a dancefloor ripper. Plug in enjoy the journey.

LP / Digital Album

Posted on September 10th, 2022 under Releases, ,

Jake Schrock - Omnibus

Medical brings you a great release a long time in the making. Dallas analog synthesist Jake Schrock has been very active in the Texas music scene for many years with prior releases for S U R V I V E’s Holodeck label as well as performing in //TENSE//. With a literal arsenal of vintage equipment, Jake forges a wonderful, almost 80s soundtrack vibe with deep emotive washes and playful and gentle classic drum machine patterns and beats. Seven unreleased tracks meticulously chosen from the Schrock archive crossing and blending multiple genres (wave, kosmiche, new age).

LP / Digital Album

Posted on August 2nd, 2020 under Releases, ,

Froe Char - Mortality

New single from Froe Char (also a member of Illustration Sonore). Two stormy tracks further defining Froe Char’s sound which is a substrate of universes, mixing noise, dark atmospheres and techno with melodic vocals. Organic wave at it’s finest.

7″ / Digital Album

Posted on June 10th, 2018 under Releases, ,

Lab Personnel - Recreation

Lab Personnel is a very intriguing collaboration between a number of producers hailing from Croatia. Members include Zarkoff (member of Sumerian Fleet), Neon Lies, ikonal many more (total eight members).

The tracks were recorded during Synth Lab 4 improvisational sessions in Pisak in 2017. The album is a dense and stormy affair overall with mesmerizing and dark synths. The styles presented drift between genres including acid techno, electro, EBM, and other hybrids. All instrumental, the LP is a brooding journey into diverse techno soundscapes with eight strong tracks that will not disappoint.

LP / Digital Album

Posted on April 4th, 2018 under Releases, ,