Cosmetics - Baby

Cititrax is delighted to announce two new releases by Cosmetics, a Vancouver-based synth wave duo formed by Nic Emm and Aja Emma in 2008. Cosmetics reappeared in 2022 after having been relatively quiet since its very memorable releases on Captured Tracks in 2010. In 2023, the band returns with a phenomenal full-length LP entitled ‘Baby’ and a 7” single entitled Pillow Talk / Tell Me (Alternate Versions).

Their music is sultry, minimalist, and atmospheric, backed by lush analog synths and sparse drum machines. Aja’s seductive vocals cut through the perfectly crafted dark synthpop forming a filmlike narrative that draws us in. The ‘Baby’ LP will have you listening on repeat and the single featuring alternate versions of two songs from the album will bring you from your bedroom listening to the dance floor. Cosmetics continue the lineage of Minimal Wave into the present day.

LP / Digital Album

Posted on October 22nd, 2023 under Releases, ,

An-i - Rabble

Cititrax proudly presents a highly anticipated 12” from An-i, the musical moniker for Berlin-based Korean American Doug Lee. Doug has been DJing and producing records for two decades under various aliases and collaborations. The ‘Rabble’ EP will be the third release for An-i, and the first one since Gutz in 2015. The return of An-i has found him in even more brazen territory than on previous releases. He moves between musicality and chaos while remaining intriguing throughout – a testament to his uniqueness and integrity. The opener, ‘Rabble’, tonally crude and menacing, backed with a relentless primitive machine rhythm and a psychotic vocal parodying mob mentality, points at the absurdity of take-down culture. ‘Rubble’ follows, a mighty stripped-down instrumental dub. The flip, ‘Chapel Perilous’, is a wandering spaced-out journey into the psyche. It reflects on loss and ultimately freedom from one’s ego identity, meandering an uncertain path that results in a spiritual epiphany. “When I am nothing, everything is me”…

An-i’s Rabble EP will be pressed on 160-gram fluorescent green vinyl and housed in a high gloss black and white sleeve featuring ink brush painting by the artist. The release date is July 15th, 2023. An-i will also perform a rare live set that evening at the Minimal Wave 18 Years Event in NYC. More info on that to follow. Pre-order Ani’s ‘Rabble’ EP now.

12″ EP

Posted on September 3rd, 2023 under Releases, ,

The KVB - Immaterial Visions

We’re proud to announce a new release by the UK duo The KVB via our sub-label Cititrax. Combining shoegaze guitars, minimal synth melodies, hypnotic drum machine rhythms and reverb drenched vocals, The KVB was first formed in 2010 as the solo project of Klaus Von Barrel. He was later joined by his girlfriend Kat Day, who added synthesizers and abstract visual elements. Their sound can be described as dark, layered, complex and moody – an icy atmosphere juxtaposed by the warmth of distorted guitars. The record is pressed on 180 gram ultra clear vinyl, housed in a high gloss printed heavy sleeve, limited to 999 copies.

“A pulsing, dark, and complex album, “Immaterial Visions” has the slick production and modern new wave styling of the “Drive” OST, with the vaguely disconcerting sensuality of a Swans LP. The droning and distorted guitars, completely unintelligible vocals, and throbbing drum sound combine here to make a feverish listening experience. These tracks leave you somewhere between uneasy and turned on.”

LP / Digital Album

Posted on February 14th, 2021 under Releases, ,

Tornische – Interiorismo

Cititrax is excited to present a full-length LP by a new duo called Tornische. Julio Tornero and Hanna Chamiarytskaya (aka Anneq) got together in Madrid after having met through mutual friends. Immediately, they bonded and found musical chemistry between them. They went into the studio and began revisiting Julio’s unreleased archives, incorporating what he had already recorded years ago with fresh sounds and Neu Deutsche Welle style duets. The result is a modern, chaotic, take on 80s European new wave, 90s Detroit electro, and contemporary indie electro-pop. The energy level is always high, the melodies are catchy and the vocal delivery and lyrics futuristic, subversive, italo-disco-punk, and surreal. A special album, this one is line with Medio Mutante’s classic debut EP, Inestable (2008) and not unlike the pioneering sound of Liaisons Dangereuses.


Posted on February 19th, 2020 under Releases, ,

L/F/D/M - Dream Bleeds

Cititrax is happy to announce ‘Dream Bleeds’, a new vinyl release by Brighton, UK based producer L/F/D/M. L/F/D/M is Richard Smith who first emerged in 2013, inaugurating the Optimo Trax series with the Purple Maps EP.

In 2014, he teamed up with former Factory Floor’s Dominic Butler to release two EP’s of hardware-driven atonal techno on Powell’s Diagonal Records. In 2015, Cititrax featured Moth Holes on our Tracks Volume 2.

‘Dream Bleeds’ overflows with body jerking industrial, raw acid/techno, and hints of the warehouse sound of the late ‘90s and the caustic spirit of EBM.


Posted on August 21st, 2019 under Releases, ,